2017 Staff and Contributors

Since 1985 the Distance Teaching & Learning Conference has provided a transformative professional development experience for individuals working in the field of distance and online education–from teachers to instructional designers to administrators (and everything in between). The challenge is to address this rapidly changing landscape with the most current topics, technologies, and innovations to inform best practices. The Distance Education Professional Development (DEPD) team collaborates with more than two dozen advisors and committee members from campus and around the U.S. who help shape the conference program every year. Here is the 2017 list of contributors:

Distance Education Professional Development, Continuing Studies, UW-Madison

  • Kat Abbott
  • Louise Fowler
  • Wendy Fritz
  • Mike Kern
  • John Oppenheimer
  • Kimary Peterson
  • Bridget Powell
  • Bonnie Schmidt
  • Karen Skibba
  • Janet Staker Woerner


2017 Conference Committee

  • Thomas Arendalkowski, Learning Designer, Central Information Technology Services, University of Wisconsin Colleges/University of Wisconsin Extension
  • Leslie Dinauer, Professor and Doctorate of Management Program Chair, University of Maryland University College
  • Dawn Drake, Executive Director, Alternative Delivery Systems, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
  • William Ferree, Professor, Naval War College
  • Hilda Glazer, Faculty Chair/Ed. Psych. and Director, Center for the Study of Play Therapy, Capella University
  • Colin Holden, Curriculum Manager, College of Letters and Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Mark Millard, Director of Learning Design and Technologies, Engineering Professional Development, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Janice Mertes, Assistant Director, IMT/Digital Learning, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • James Moore, Director of Online Learning, DePaul University
  • Penny Ralston-Berg, Instructional Designer, Penn State World Campus
  • David Stein, Associate Professor, Workforce Development and Education, Ohio State University
  • Terry Tao, Instructional Design Team Lead, Division of Continuing Education, Outreach, and E-Learning University of Wisconsin-Extension
  • Constance Wanstreet, Adjunct Assistant Professor, College of Education and Human Ecology, Ohio State University


2017 Advisors and Contributors

  • Academic Technology, Department of Information Technology, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ryan Anderson, Director of Instructional Design and Development, Division of Continuing Education, Outreach, and E-Learning, University of Wisconsin-Extension
  • Simone Conceição, Professor, School of Education, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Narra Smith Cox, Department Chair/Professor, Liberal Arts and Applied Studies, Division of Continuing Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • William Diehl, Assistant Professor of Education and Coordinator of Online Graduate Programs, Pennsylvania State University
  • Darcy Hardy, Associate Vice President, Enterprise Consulting, Blackboard Inc.
  • Instructional Communications Systems, University of Wisconsin-Extension
  • Tanya Joosten, Director, eLearning Research and Development, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Linda Jorn, Associate Vice Provost for Learning Technologies and Director of Academic Technology, Department of Information Technology, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Bruce Maas, Vice Provost for IT and CIO, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Carlos Morales, President, TCC Connect, Tarrant County College District
  • John Orlando, Associate Director,Faculty Support, Northcentral University
  • Rena Palloff, Faculty at Fielding University, Capella University, and University of the Rockies; and Consultant, Crossroads West
  • Jeffrey Russell, Vice Provost for Lifelong Learning and Dean of Continuing Studies, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ray Schroeder, Associate Vice Chancellor for Online Learning, Center for Online Learning, Research, and Service and Professor Emeritus of Communication, University of Illinois-Springfield
  • Rick Shearer, Director, World Campus Learning Design, Pennsylvania State University
  • Thomas Smith, Emeritus Director, Engineering Telecommunications Programs, University of Wisconsin-Madison/Extension
  • George Watson, Senior Consultant, Office of Quality Improvement, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ellen Wagner, Vice President, Research, Hobsons
UW-Madison DT&L Conference: staff and contributors
UW-Madison Logo - for decoration only


Be among the first to receive special announcements and newsletters.

Click here if you have a general question about UW-Madison's Distance Education